Sahitya Akademi Award 2021- Winners

On December 30, 2021, the Sahitya Akademi announced its prestigious “Sahitya Akademi Awards, Yuva Puraskar as well as Bal Sahitya Puraskar” for 2021 in various languages.

Sahitya Akademi Award 2021

  • The Sahitya Akademy Award 2021 was given in 20 Indian languages.
  • Namita Gokhale received it in English for her novel titled ‘Things to Leave Behind’.
  • Other winners include:
  1. Anuradha Sarma Pujari (Assamese)
  2. Bratya Basu (Bengali)
  3. Daya Prakash Sinha (Hindi)
  4. Wali Mohd Aseer Kashtawari (Kashmiri)
  5. Khalid Hussain (Punjabi)
  6. Vindeshwari prasad Mishr “Vinay” (Sanskrit) etc.
  • Winner of Gujarati, Manipuri, Maithili, and Urdu languages will be announced later date.

Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar 2021

  • The Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar 2021 was given in 22 Indian languages.
  • Megha Majumdar won this award for her debut book ‘A Burning’, which was published in 2020. This book is about struggles of life in India.
  • Megha Majumdar was born in India, but now lives in New York and works as an Editor in chief- Books at Catapult Story.
  • Other winners of the award include:
  1. Abhijit Bora (Assamese)
  2. Gourob Chakraborty (Bengali)
  3. Drashti Soni (Gujarati)
  4. Himanshu Vajpai (Hindi)
  5. Mahesh Dahal (Nepali)
  6. Swetapadma Satapathy (Sanskrit) etc.

Bal Sahitya Puraskar 2021

  • The Bal Sahitya Puraskar 2021 was given in 22 Indian languages.
  • Anita Vachharajani won the award in the English language. She was awarded for her children’s book titled ‘Amrita Sher-Gil: Rebel With A Paintbrush’.
  • Other winners include:
  1. Mrinal Chandra Kalita (Assamese)
  2. Sunirmal Chakraborty (Bengali)
  3. Devendra Mewari (Hindi)
  4. Majeed Majazi (Kashmiri) etc.

The Sahitya Akademi Award

It is a literary honour in India, conferred annually by the Sahitya Akademi. Award is conferred on writers of most outstanding books of literary merit, which are published in any of 24 major Indian languages and 22 languages which are listed in the Eighth Schedule of Indian Constitution. The award was established in 1954.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *