Rekha Sharma appointed as Chairperson of National Commission for Women

Rekha Sharma (54) was appointed as chairperson of the National Commission for Women (NCW). Prior to this appointment, she was member of the Commission and was holding the additional charge of chairperson after Lalitha Kumaramangalam had demitted office in September 2017.

National Commission for Women (NCW)

NCW is a statutory body established under the National Commission for Women Act, 1990. It was established in January 1992. It is apex national level organization of India the mandate of protecting and promoting the interests of women. It also reviews constitutional and legal safeguards for women. It recommends remedial legislative measures, advise Government on all policy matters affecting women and facilitate redressal of grievances related to women. It regularly publishes monthly newsletter, Rashtra Mahila, in both Hindi and English.


1 Comment


    November 3, 2018 at 2:53 pm

    I am sub-divisional engineer powerplant Vallioor of BSNL Thiruneli district.
    I was posted at Vallioor since 2011.
    I am travelling to and fro nearly 180 km daily from my residence to office.I am trying to get my transfer to Ambasamudram from 2011.
    My applications were thrown away and waiting list registered only during 2017 that too waiting list no not yet communicated.
    I am suffering a lot .
    My promotions denied .My juniors promoted during 2014.
    Kindly do the needful.
    Thanking you
    BLUE BOOK NO 34861.

Leave a Reply