N. K. Singh: New President of Institute of Economic Growth Society

Chairman of 15th Finance Commission, NK Singh, has been elected as the new president of Institute of Economic Growth (IEG) Society.

Key Facts

  • He succeeded former Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh who was the President of IEG since 1992.
  • His name was recommended by Dr Manmohan Singh for the consideration of the IEG’s general assembly.
  • Dr Manmohan Singh stepped down from this position for health concerns.

About Institute of Economic Growth

It is an autonomous, multidisciplinary centre that is used for advanced research and training. It was founded by VKRV Rao in 1952, but became operational in 1958. It is located at University Enclave of University of Delhi, New Delhi.

IEG’s research

Research in the Institute of Economic Growth are categorized in nine broad themes—

  1. Agriculture and rural development,
  2. Environment and resource economics
  3. Globalisation and trade
  4. Industry, labour and welfare
  5. Macro-economic policy and modelling
  6. Population and development
  7. Health policy
  8. Social change and
  9. Social structure.

Training Programme by IEG

IEG organises regular training programmes for the trainee officers from Indian Economic Service as well as some occasional courses for officers from Indian Statistical Service, NABARD, and university teachers.

Nand Kishore Singh (N.K. Singh)

He is an economist, Indian politician, and former Indian Administrative Service officer. Since 2014, He is a senior member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). He also served as Member of Parliament in the Rajya Sabha during 2008-2014 from Bihar for Janata Dal (United).  He has been a member of Planning Commission. He was appointed as chairman of the 15th Finance Commission in 2017.


Leave a Reply