Ministry of Tourism identified 17 sites for development as Iconic Tourist Sites

The Union Minister of State(independent charge) for Culture and Tourism, Prahlad Singh Patel in a written reply to Lok Sabha on Tuesday, 10th December 2019 informed that the Government has identified some iconic world-class tourist stations in India to attract international and national tourists.
17 sites in 12 clusters from across the country have been identified for development as Iconic Tourist Sites. The sites are:
Taj Mahal and Fatehpur Sikri in Uttar Pradesh, Ajanta and Ellora in Maharashtra, Humayun’s Tomb, Red Fort and Qutub Minar in Delhi, Colva in Goa, Amer Fort in Rajasthan, Somnath temple and Dholavira in Gujarat, Khajuraho in Madhya Pradesh, Hampi in Karnataka, Mahabalipuram in Tamil Nadu, Kaziranga in Assam, Kumarakom in Kerela and Mahabodhi temple in Bihar.
The development of the Iconic Tourist sites scheme is awaiting approval from the Ministry of Finance.

Leave a Reply