Legislative Assembly passes Bill for Three Capitals in Andhra Pradesh

With the intention to have three capitals in the state, a bill was introduced in the State Assembly of Andhra Pradesh on Monday 20th January 2020, which late on Monday night, the state Legislative Assembly of Andhra Pradesh passed the bill under which three state capitals namely Amravati, Visakhapatnam, and Kurnool will be created. During the discussion in the house through the day, amendments were proposed to the bill by the opposition party, which were rejected by the house.

Earlier, the bill ‘AP Decentralisation and Inclusive Development of All Regions Bill, 2020’ was approved by the cabinet for a decentralized and balanced growth and development of the state. It also provides for creating several zones within the state and establishing zonal planning and development boards. The government is set up its legislative capital in Amaravati, secretariat and executive capital in Visakhapatnam and judicial capital in Kurnool.

Now as Bicameral Legislature exists in Andhra Pradesh, the bill will be introduced to the upper house-the Legislative Council on Tuesday.


Leave a Reply