Jharkhand Introduces India’s First Widow Remarriage Incentive Scheme

In a groundbreaking initiative, the state of Jharkhand has become the first in the country to launch the ‘Vidhwa Punarvivah Protsahan Yojana’ (Widow Remarriage Incentive Scheme). Under this scheme, women who choose to remarry after the death of their husbands will receive an incentive of Rs. 2 lakh from the government. The scheme was launched by Chief Minister Champai Soren on March 6, 2024.

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for the scheme, the beneficiary must meet certain criteria:

  1. The woman should be of marriageable age.
  2. The woman should not be a government employee, pensioner, or income tax payer.
  3. The application for the incentive must be submitted within one year from the date of remarriage.
  4. The death certificate of the late husband must be provided.

Empowering Women and Changing Social Perceptions

This scheme is seen as  empowering women who find themselves alone and helpless after the death of their life partners. By providing financial assistance and support, the scheme aims to help women who find themselves in a vulnerable position after the loss of their husbands.
This initiative not only provides a new lease of life for these women but also challenges societal norms and perceptions surrounding the remarriage of widows. As the first of its kind in the country, this scheme sets a precedent for other states to follow in their efforts to uplift and support women in need.

Distribution of Funds and Other Announcements

During the launch event at Tana Bhagat Indoor Stadium in Ranchi, Chief Minister Champai Soren distributed a total of Rs. 14 lakh among seven beneficiaries of the scheme.
Additionally, the Chief Minister announced an increase in the honorarium for Anganwadi workers, who will now receive Rs. 9,500 per month, while helpers will receive Rs. 4,750 per month. The first installment of old age pension was also transferred to the bank accounts of 1,58,218 people during the occasion.

Application Process and Required Documents

To avail the benefits of the scheme, eligible widows must apply within one year of their remarriage. They are required to submit the death certificate of their late husband along with the application. Government employees, pensioners, and income taxpayers are not eligible for this scheme.



1 Comment

  1. Ambati

    March 9, 2024 at 10:55 am

    Can you tell the website name where we want to apply for the scheme

Leave a Reply