India joins G20 Troika

India recently joined the G20 Troika. The G20 Troika is made of Indonesia, India and Italy. That is Troika is made of the current presidency, Indonesia; the previous presidency Italy and the incoming presidency which is India.

What is Troika?

Troika means a group of three people working together. It is an English word. The Troika of G20 is made of the current, next and immediate past host countries. The Troika ensures continuity and provides presidency support.

What is the need of Troika in G20?

The G20 operates without a permanent staff or secretariat. The chair of the group rotates annually among its members. The current chair establishes secretariat temporarily. This secretariat organises meetings and coordinates the working of the group. Thus, there is need for Troika to help with the secretariat so that there is continuity in the works of G20.

Who forms Troika?

In 2019, the G20 was hosted by Japan. In 2020, Italy hosted G20. In 2021, it is Indonesia. In 2022, 2023 and 2024, it will be hosted by Indonesia, India and Brazil. Thus, the following countries formed the Troika in G20

  • 2020: Japan, Italy and Indonesia
  • 2021: Italy, Indonesia and India
  • 2022: Indonesia, India and Brazil

Who is the current president of G20?

The current presidency of G20 was assumed by Indonesia recently. It is to hold the chair till October 2022 under the theme “Recover Together Recover Stronger”. Then India will take over for the first time.


Leave a Reply