Hyderabad-Karnataka region Renamed ‘Kalyana Karnataka’

After completing the official procedure for renaming Hyderabad Karnataka region Chief Minister of Karnataka B.S. Yediyurappa made the official proclamation to rename the region as Kalyana Karnataka. The Hyderabad Karnataka region comprises six north-eastern districts of Karnataka: Bidar, Kalaburagi, Koppal, Ballari, Yadgir and Raichur.

The announcement was made by CM ahead of hosting of national flag in Kalaburagi on occasion of commemoration of ‘Hyderabad-Karnataka Liberation Day’. All other formalities relating to renaming would follow in consultation with Centre.

Key Highlights

The name ‘Kalya’ (in ‘Kalyana Karnataka’) comes from  Kingdom of Kalyana, which was the epicenter of Sharana movement and Vachana Sahitaya preached and followed by several social reformers, including Basvanna.

The renaming of Hyderabad-Karnataka as Kalyana Karnataka has been a long standing demand of people of the region.

CM also announced that a separate secretariat would be set up for the development of Kalyana Karnataka, through which funds would be released for developmental work.

More funds for the all-round development of Kalyana Karnataka region would be allocated in the next budget.


The Hyderabad-Karnataka region was under Nizams of Hyderabad even after independence (1947) as the last Nizam, Mir Osman Ali Khan Bahadur, refused to annex his kingdom to Indian Union. Then on 17 September 1948 he merged with Indian Union after Police Action which forced the Nizam and his army to surrender.

Owing to its backwardness, the region, comprising of Bidar, Kalaburagi, Koppal, Ballari, Yadgir and Raichur enjoys special status under Article 371J of Constitution of India.


1 Comment

  1. Mallikarjun

    September 18, 2019 at 4:25 pm

    Thank you gktoday

Leave a Reply