Golden Globe Awards Winners

Hollywood opened its “awards season of the Golden Globe”. The Golden Globe Awards event was organised behind the closed doors on January 9, 2022.

Key Facts

  • The Power Of The Dog” won the Best Film (Drama) Award while its director “Jane Campion” won the Best Director award
  • Will Smith won his first Golden Globe, that is Best Film Actor (Drama) for King Richard.
  • Nicole Kidman won the fifth Golden Globe award that is Best Film Actress (Drama) for Being The Ricardos.
  • Steven Spielberg’s remake of West Side Storywon awards including-
  1. Best Film Actress (Comedy/Musical) for Rachel Zegler
  2. Best Film (Comedy/Musical), and
  3. Best Supporting Actress (Film) for Ariana DeBose.
  • Andrew Garfield won Best Film Actor (Comedy/Musical) for his movie called “tick, tick… BOOM!.”

Awards in TV Category

  • In the TV category, Succession won three awards. Jeremy Strong won Best Actor (Drama) while and Sarah Snook won Best Supporting Actress.
  • Succession also won the Best Drama Series award.

Best TV actor award

  • Jason Sudeikis won Best TV Actor (Comedy/Musical) for Ted Lasso.
  • Hacks won big in the category of “TV comedy”.
  • Squid Game fetched an early win for O Yeong-su, winner of Best Supporting Actor (Television).

Golden Globe Awards

Golden Globe Awards are accolades bestowed since January 1944. It is bestowed by the 87 members of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association. The award recognizes excellence in American & international film and television.

When is the ceremony held?

The annual ceremony is usually held in the month of January, every year to present the awards.

Eligibility period for the awards

Eligibility period for the Golden Globes corresponds to calendar year that is from January 1 through December 31. However, 78th Golden Globe Awards were presented as an exception to this rule amid the COVID-19 pandemic.



Leave a Reply