GK & Current Affairs – January 30, 31, 2016

1. Who has won the 2016 Australia Open women’s single title?
[A]Serena Williams
[B]Angelique Kerber
[C]Flavia Pennetta
[D]Johanna Konta
Answer: Angelique Kerber
The German tennis player Angelique Kerber has won 2016 Australia Open women’s single title by defeating Serena Williams in the final at Melbourne park. She became the first German to win this Grand Slam title since Staffi Graff in 1994.
2. Who has been chosen for the K Veeramani Social Justice Award?
[A]Sushma Swaraj
[B]Mamata Banerjee
[C]Manik Sarkar
[D]Nitish Kumar
Answer: Nitish Kumar
Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar has been chosen for the prestigious K Veeramani Social Justice Award for his immense contribution for the cause of social justice especially for upliftment of weaker and marginalised sections of the society. The award carries a plaque and a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh. The award will be presented by the Periyar International, a Chicago-based voluntary organisation at an award function, the venue of which is yet to be decided.
3. Who has won the 2016 William E. Colby Award for best military book?
[A]Logan Beirne
[B]Nisid Hajari
[C]Douglas V. Mastriano
[D]Thomas P. McKenna
Answer: Nisid Hajari
Indian author and foreign affairs expert Nisid Hajari has won the 2016 William E. Colby Award for his book “Midnight’s Furies: The Deadly Legacy of India’s Partition”. The book is based on the 1947 partition of India and the violence surrounded that event. The Colby prize is awarded annually by Norwich University to a first-time author in recognition of a work of fiction or non- fiction that has made a major contribution to the understanding of military history, intelligence operations or international affairs.
4. Nayani Krishnakumari, who passed away recently, was a writer in which language?
Answer: Telugu
The former Vice Chancellor of Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University and renowned Telugu litterateur Nayani Krishnakumari (86) passed away in Hyderabad. She was a pioneer in folklore studies and women literature and is credited with identifying the folk literature as a separate and valuable part of Telugu literature.
5. Who has won the 2015-16 MRF Challenge Formula 2000?
[A]Arjun Narendran
[B]Tatiana Calderon
[C]Karthik Tharani
[D]Pietro Fittipaldi
Answer: Pietro Fittipaldi
The Brazilian-American racing driver Pietro Fittipaldi has won the 2015-16 MRF Challenge Formula 2000 at Madras Motor Racing Track in Sriperumbudur, Tamil Nadu.
6. T N GopaKumar, who passed away recently, was associated with which field?
[D]Information Technology
Answer: Journalism
The senior journalist and Editor-in-chief of Asianet News T N GopaKumar (58) passed away in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala. He was fondly known as TNG, started his journalistic career with Indian Express and went on to work with Mathrubhumi, News Time, Statesman, Independent and India Today. He also contributed to BBC Radio before joining Asianet. Beside this, he also penned books on various subjects, directed a film Jeevan Mashai in 2001 and a serial for Doordarshan Verukkal (Roots).
7. Currently, what is the base year for calculating the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) in India?
Answer: 2011-12
According to the recently released data, India’s economy expanded 7.2 per cent in the financial year ended March 2015, marginally slower than the previous estimate of 7.3 per cent. Presently, 2011-12 is used as the base year for calculating gross domestic product in India.
8. Who is appointed as the Chairman and Managing Director of NTPC Limited?
[A]Rajesh Mishra
[B]Gurdeep Singh
[C]Atul Sobti
[D]Dinesh Kumar Sarraf
Answer: Gurdeep Singh
Government has appointed Gurdeep Singh, currently head of Gujarat State Electricity Corp, as the chairman and managing director of NTPC Ltd. Gurdeep Singh will be the first person to be appointed to the top job at a Maharatna company through a search committee route.
9. Who among the following Indians has been conferred with “Order of Friendship” award by Russia, recently?
[A]Suresh Pandyan
[B]R S Sundar
[C]Kishan Singh
[D]Ramesh Kulkarni
Answer: R S Sundar
Russia has awarded ‘Order of Friendship’ to Director of the Kudankulam nuclear power plant (NPP) construction site Ramayah Shanmuga Sundar. It reflects the growing strategic partnership between Delhi and Moscow. The NPP Kudankulam is under construction in India with Russian assistance in accordance with Intergovernmental agreement of 1988. The first 1000 Megawatt Unit of the plant was connected to national power grid in 2013. The second Unit is scheduled for launch in 2016.
10. The 34th National rowing championship was held in which city?
Answer: Hyderabad
The 34th National Rowing Championship – 2016 was held in Hyderabad at Hussain Sagar Lake from 25 – 31 January 2016. Sandeep Kumar of All India Police has emerged as the winner in senior men category. .

The above 5 questions are part of Daily Current Affairs 20 MCQs Series in GKToday's Academy Android Application. This series can be subscribed in the app only for Rs. 1100/- for entire year. Download Now



Question Category: 

Latest E-Books