Gandhi Peace Prize 2020- Highlights

According to the Ministry of the culture, government of India has conferred the Gandhi Peace Prize on Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman for 2020. The peace prize for the year 2019 was conferred on the late His Majesty Sultan Qaboos bin Said Al Said of Oman.


The peace prize was conferred ahead of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s scheduled visit to Dhaka on March 26, 2021. He will be attending the celebrations of the golden jubilee of the independence and birth centenary of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

Sheikh Mujibur Rahman

Sheikh Mujibur Rahman was the first President and also became Prime Minister of Bangladesh, later.  He is called as  “Father of the Nation” or “Mujib”. He was assassinated on August 15, 1975.

Sultan Qaboos bin Said Al Said

Winner of the Gandhi Peace Prize 2019, Sultan Qaboos, was the longest-reigning leader of the modern Arab world. He died in the month of January 2020. The peace prize was given this year for the last two years that is 2019 and 2020. In the year 2018, it was announced for the last four years.

Gandhi Peace Prize

This is an International Gandhi Peace Prize which has been named after Mahatma Gandhi. The award is presented by the Government of India. It is presented as a tribute to the Gandhian Ideals. This award was launched in the year 1995 on the occasion of the 125th anniversary of Mohandas Gandhi. This annual award is given to the individuals and institutions for their contributions in the political, social and economic transformation through non-violence and other Gandhian ideals. It comprises of rupees one crore in cash, a plaque and a citation. The award is open to all the persons regardless of their race, nationality, gender or creed.


1 Comment

  1. Dr.Cajetan Coelho

    May 1, 2021 at 7:41 pm

    Thus wrote Mahatma Gandhi: “It’s my conviction that nothing enduring can be built on violence”.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *