DRDO Chairman G Satheesh Reddy awarded honorary fellowship by Royal Aeronautical Society of UK

Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) chairman G Satheesh Reddy was awarded honorary fellowship by Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS) of United Kingdom (UK) during the Medals and Awards presentation ceremony in London. He is the first Indian recipient of the prestigious award in more than 100 years.

About G Satheesh Reddy

Why was he awarded? Society’s highest award is bestowed in recognition of contributions of Reddy towards indigenous design, development and deployment of diversified missile systems, guided weapons, aerospace vehicles as well as avionics technologies in India over the past three decades. His pioneering technological contributions has enabled the country to realise frontline military systems and world class missile technologies.

His Contributions: He spearheaded Mission Shakti, India’s first Anti-Satellite Missile Test (ASAT) mission which demonstrated an extremely high degree of precision and technological prowess, enabling India to join a select group of 4 nations with such capability. He even bolstered Ballistic Missile Defence (BMD) programme and successfully demonstrated missile interception capabilities at high altitudes.

He also led development of advanced avionics, the indigenous design, development and deployment of state-of-the-art mission critical aerospace technologies and advanced missile systems as well as achieved successful missions of long-range Agni 5 strategic missile. His Research & Development contributions have made country self-reliant in Missiles and Avionics technologies. These cutting edge technologies have been backbone for key strategic programmes and other defence applications in India.

He is famous among students as ‘Junior Kalam’ and ‘Next Generation Missile Man’ due to his talent on advanced technologies.

Awards: He has received many awards such as- National Systems Gold Medal, AIAA Missile Systems Award, National Design Award, National Aeronautical Prize, Homi J Bhabha Gold Medal, Technology Leadership Award and IEI-IEEE (USA) award for engineering excellence.

About Honorary Fellowship by Royal Aeronautical Society

It is one of the world’s highest distinctions for aerospace achievement awarded for only most exceptional contributions to the aerospace profession. It is considered as equivalent to Nobel Prize in the aerospace domain.

The first Honorary Fellowship was awarded in year 1917. Eminent persons conferred with this award includes doyens of Aerospace such as Orville Wright, aviation pioneer known for inventing airplane with his brother, Wilbur.

Leave a Reply