Asia-Pacific navies sign communication agreement at Western Pacific Naval Symposium (WPNS)

India and 21 other countries adopted an agreement at ameliorating communication at sea to cut down the possibility of conflict amid developing friction between a progressively assertive China and its neighbours. Naval chiefs of these nations participated at the biennial conference of the Western Pacific Naval Symposium (WPNS) held at Qingdao, China. Rear Admiral S N Ghormade, represented Indian Navy at the meet.
The member nations adopted an agreement for:

  • Preventing miscommunication amongst naval vessels that could lead to enmities in the Pacific Ocean.
  • How naval ships should communicate and manoeuvre when they accidentally come into contact in sea lanes surrounding China, Japan and Southeast Asia

[icon name=”icon-info-sign”]Western Pacific Naval Symposium (WPNS)
Established in 1987 with objective to encourage cooperation amongst the navies of its member nations, fortify mutual understanding and trust, and collectively safeguard regional maritime security. WPNS constitutes navies whose nations border the Pacific Ocean region.
The WPNS has 21 member states:

  1. Australia
  2. Brunei
  3. Cambodia
  4. Canada
  5. Chile
  6. China
  7. France
  8. Indonesia
  9. Japan
  10. Malaysia
  11. New Zealand
  12. Papua New Guinea
  13. Peru
  14. Philippines
  15. Republic of Korea
  16. Russia
  17. Singapore
  18. Thailand
  19. Tonga
  20. US
  21. Vietnam

India is an observer at WPNS and China is one of the WPNS’ founding members.



Latest E-Books