Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana, UAE Elected to UNSC

Countries including Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana and United Arab Emirates (UAE) have been elected unopposed to powerful UN Security Council (UNSC) as non-permanent members for 2022-23 term.

Key Points

  • UN General Assembly (UNGA) has held elections to elect five non-permanent members for UNSC. They will take their seats on Council for two-year term from January 1, 2022.
  • Five countries won elections unopposed because they were the only candidates from their respective regional groups.

Regional distribution of seats in UNSC

As per regional distribution for 2021 election, three seats were available from African & Asian States. Gabon, Ghana and United Arab Emirates won these three sears. Apart from that, one Latin American and Caribbean Group seat was available for which Brazil was elected. While, Albania won Eastern European Group seat.

Which countries are retiring?

Estonia, Niger, Saint Vincent & Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam will complete their two-year terms on UNSC in 2021. Thus, to fill this seat, new non-permanent members were elected. They will sit the table along with five permanent members China, France, Russia, United Kingdom & United States and five non-permanent members India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico & Norway. India will also assume rotating Presidency of Security Council in August.

Election to non-permanent members

Election for the non-permanent members of UNSC is held by secret ballot. Candidates require a two-thirds majority in UNGA to be elected as non-permanent member. Five countries are elected to Council of 15-member (UNSC) as non-permanent members for two-year term.




Latest E-Books