Current Affairs : Awards November 24-28, 2009

November 25, 2009: Stockholm International Film Festival Lifetime Achievement Award : Susan Sarandon
American actress Susan Sarandon was presented with a lifetime achievement award at the Stockholm International Film Festival in Sweden . Susan Sarandon , an oscar winning star was given the lifetime achievement prize for her contribution to the world of cinema.

November 25, 2009: Cairo International Film Festival Awards received by Indians
Tamil film ”Mudhal Mudhal Mudhal Varai” has won the Silver Award at 33rd Cairo International Film Festival. Krishnan Seshadri Gomatam, is the director of the film. India was the ”Guest of Honour” in the Cairo Film Festival. Veteran filmmaker Adoor Gopalakrishnan was the Chairman of the International Jury.

Kolkata-based actor Subrat Dutta got the best actor award at the 33rd Cairo International Film Festival (CIFF) for his performance in “Madholal Keep Walking”.

Gangadhar National Award for poetry : A.M.K. Shahryar
A.M.K. Shahryar from Aligarh Muslim University has won Gangadhar National Award for poetry, instituted by Sambalpur University. The Sambalpur University had instituted the award in the memory of eminent Orissa poet Gangadhar Meher (1862-1924). It carries a cash prize of Rs.50,000, a shawl and a citation.

Eklavya Awards 2007:
Following are the 2007 Eklavya award winners:

  1. L Manjula- athletics,
  2. Nityasosale-badminton,
  3. R Umadevi-billiards,
  4. M Satvik -chess,
  5. Aliadas Gupta- eqestrian,
  6. Xavier Vijayakumar-football,
  7. N Laxmi-fencing,
  8. G M Hariprasad -hockey,
  9. Varadraj M N -kho kho,
  10. Thyagaraj-kabaddi,
  11. Nayanshriyan-power lifting,
  12. Kavita V -rifle shooting,
  13. Kshripramahajan-swimming,
  14. Sharat Gaikawad -handicaps sports,
  15. L M Karibasappa-body building.

Eklavya Awards 2008
Following are the 15 awardees for 2008 Eklavya Awards :

  1. Poovamma V R -athletics,
  2. Shrinivas Naik- basketball,
  3. Ashvini Ponnappa -badminton,
  4. Girish K- chess,
  5. Kaveri Banakar-cycling,
  6. Nanjundegowda-fencing,
  7. Vikram Kant M L- Hockey,
  8. Rohini B Patil- judo,
  9. Adarsha C P -kho kho,
  10. Udaya Chowti-Kabaddi,
  11. R Pramila-netball,
  12. Jyoti N B – power lifting,
  13. Rohit R H-swimming,
  14. Akshata A K -volley ball
  15. Farma B -handicaps-sports.

November 26, 2009: Eminent Engineer National Award: T Mohan Rao
Mr T Mohan Rao, Director of Gas Turbine Research Establishment has been conferred upon ‘Eminent Engineer National Award’, instituted by the Institution of Engineers (India) for his contribution to aerospace engineering.
Mr. T Mohan Rao had played a major role in the development of indigenous Kaveri aero engine at the GTRE. This Kavreri engine is in the final stage of testing, is likely to be fitted on the indigenous light combat aircraft ‘Tejus’.

November 27, 2009: Indian Association of Biomedical Scientists Award : K Ruckmani
K Ruckmani, Professor and Head, Department of Pharmaceutical Technology, Anna University, Tiruchirapalli, has received Indian Association of Biomedical Scientists award this year for a paper on patent titled ‘Herbal Exfoliate.’
Earlier she had also received Tamil Nadu Young Women Scientist Award 2006.
She along with onbe of her associate formulated a complete herbal exfoliate without any synthetic additives and which shows antimicrobial and antioxidant activity, as it shields the skin from environmental toxins, pollution and micro organism. Herbal exfoliation may also prevent skin cancer.

November 28, 2009: Order of Australia : Brian Lara
Brian Lara has been appointed an honorary member of the Order of Australia for his service to Australia-Caribbean relations by promoting goodwill, friendship and sportsmanship through the sport of cricket.

Tamilnadu Government’s “Kalaimamani awards”
Tamil Nadu Governor Surjit Singh Barnala and Chief Minister M Karunanidhi presented the State Government’s prestigious “Kalaimamani awards” for the year 2007 to 71 artistes.

The above 5 questions are part of Daily Current Affairs 20 MCQs Series in GKToday Android Application. This series can be subscribed in the app only for Rs. 799/- for entire year. Download Now


Leave a Reply