Basavaraj Bommai: 23rd Chief Minister of Karnataka

BJP leader Basavaraj S Bommai has been selected as the 23rd chief minister of Karnataka and will take his oath on 28th July, 2021.


  • Basavaraj Bommai was selected by the BJP as BS Yediyurappa’s successor who had resigned from the post on Monday.
  • Basavaraj Bommai met ex-chief minister BS Yediyurappa as well as central observer of BJP Dharmendra Pradhan in Bengaluru before taking his oath.
  • Basavaraj Bommai was BS Yediyurappa’s home minister and was among the top contenders for post of the state’s chief minister.
  • During the legislature meeting of BJP, BS Yediyurappa proposed Bommai’s name for the post and it was seconded by Karjol Ashok Eshwarappa and all the other BJP MLAs.
  • BJP has planned on having three deputy chief ministers in Karnataka’s new government. Govind Karjol, R Ashoka and Sriramalu are the ones who will most likely be appointed.
  • Karnataka so far had 22 Chief Ministers but only three of them were able to complete their full term.

About Basavaraj Bommai

In the year 2008, Basavaraj Bommai joined the BJP and since then he has rose in the ranks of the party. Previously, he had held the water resources portfolio. By profession, he is an engineer and with the Tata Group he had started his career. From Shiggaon located in the Haveri district of Karnataka, he is a two-time MLC and three-time MLA.



Leave a Reply