Test cricket: GK, Current Affairs, Questions, Trivia and News

Ben Stokes named as PCA Player of Year 2019

England all-rounder Ben Stokes has been named the 2019 PCA (Professional Cricketers’ Association)  Player of the Year award after his splendid show in the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup and a remarkable unbeaten 135 run to win the third Ashes Test against Australia at Headingley. 

India wins ICC Test Championship Mace for 3rd straight year

India has retained ICC Test Championship mace for the third year in a row after finishing at the top of ICC Test team rankings on the cut-off date of April 1. It has also won the purse of USD 1 million. The runner up, New Zealand has won $500,000 prize money after finishing with 108 ..

Anil Kumble appointed as new Chairman of ICC Cricket Committee

Anil Kumble, a former Indian captain of Tests and ODIs, has been reappointed as the Chairman of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Cricket Committee for the third consecutive time. This 3-year stint will end in 2021 and be his final term as the Chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee. He was appointed as the head ..

Which cricketer scored most number of double centuries in test cricket?

Australian  cricketer Don Bradman has the record of scoring most number of double centuries in test cricket. In his entire career he scored 12 double centuries. Sri Lankan player Kumar Sangarkara stands in second place with 11 double centuries. Brian Lara of West Indies stands in third with 9 double centuries.

How many countries have the status of test playing nations in cricket?

Till now ten cricket teams have the status of test playing nations. They are England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh. In 2017, Ireland and Afghanistan have been awarded test status. The status of test-playing nation is conferred upon a country by the International Cricket Council.

How many Indian Batsmen scored triple century in test cricket?

In the History of Indian Test cricket, Virender Sehwag and Karan Nair are the only two Batsmen scored triple century in single innings of a test cricket. Sehwag scored two triple centuries-against Pakistan (309) and against South Africa (319). Karan Nair Scored triple century with a score of 303 against England in 2016.

Who is the only cricketer to score Quadruple century (400 in single innings) in test cricket?

In the History of Test Cricket, Brein Lara of West Indies is the only player to score Quadruple century in Test match. He Scored 400 against England in 2004. Previously the highest score in test cricket was 380 of Mathew Hayden Who is an Australian player.

Who is India’s First test match Captain in Cricket?

India played first ever test match in 1932 against England. Cottari kankaiya Naidu popularly known as CK Naidu is the first test Captain of India.In 1955 He became the first cricketer to receive Padma Bhushan which is third highest civilian honor in India.