Civil Services of India: GK, Current Affairs, Questions, Trivia and News

Bimal Jalan head of committee to select new Chief Economic Advisor

The Government of India (GoI) has constituted a committee, headed by former Reserve Bank of India governor Bimal Jalan, to select the next Chief Economic Advisor (CEA). Apart from Jalan, secretary of the department of personnel and training C Chandramouli and economic affairs secretary Subhash Chandra Garg will be members of the panel which will ..

Binoy Kumar appointed as Secretary of Ministry of Steel

Binoy Kumar, the 1983 batch IAS officer of the Telengana cadre, has assumed charged as the new Secretary of the Ministry of Steel on September 1, 2018. He had been posted as Officer on Special Duty in the Steel Ministry since May 21, 2018. He succeeded Aruna Sharma, who recently superannuated. Prior to this, Binoy ..

S Sundari Nanda posted as first woman DGP of Puducherry

S Sundari Nanda, a 1988 AGMU cadre Indian Police Service officer in the rank of ADGP, has been posted as the first woman Director General of Police (DGP) of Union Territory of Puducherry. DGP Sunil Kumar Gautam has been transferred from Puducherry to the Government of the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCTD) in place ..

Inder Jit Singh assumes charge as new Secretary in Ministry of Coal

Dr Inder Jit Singh, a 1985 batch IAS officer of Kerala Cadre, has been appointed the coal secretary in New Delhi. He succeeded Susheel Kumar. Prior to his appointment as Coal Secretary, he, was posted as Secretary (Coordination) in Cabinet Secretariat. Dr Singh is a Ph.D in Economics from Punjab University.

Sharad Kumar apporinted as new Vigilance Commissioner of CVC

Former NIA chief Sharad Kumar, who is a1979-batch IPS officer of the Haryana cadre, has been appointed new vigilance commissioner in probity watchdog Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) for a term of 4 years or till he attains the age of 65. The CVC is headed by a Central Vigilance Commissioner who is assisted by two ..

Amit Khare is newly appointed Secretary in Ministry of Information & Broadcasting (I&B)

Amit Khare, a 1985-batch IAS officer of the Jharkhand cadre, has taken assumed charge as new Secretary in the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting (I&B). He succeeded Narendra Kumar Sinha. Prior to the appointment as Secretary, Khare was Additional Chief Secretary in Jharkhand government. During a career span of more than 33 years, Khare has ..

Yudhvir Singh Malik appointed as new chairman of National Highway Authority of India (NHAI)

Yudhvir Singh Malik, a 1984 batch IAS officer of Haryana cadre, has been given additional charge of the post of National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) chairman on May 17, 2018. Malik currently is the Secretary of Ministry of Road, Transport and Highways. He succeeded Deepak Kumar, who was sent back to his cadre state ..

Pradeep Kumar Sinha appointed as new Cabinet Secretary of India

Pradeep Kumar Sinha, a 1977-batch IAS officer of the Uttar Pradesh cadre, has been given one year extension to the post of Cabinet Secretary. With this, he will continue as cabinet secretary till June 12, 2019 as against his current retirement date of 12th June 2018. The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC), headed by ..