Badminton: GK, General Studies and Current Affairs

Chinese Badminton Legend Lin Dan announces retirement

On July 4, 2020, the two-time Olympic champion Lin Dan announced retirement at the age of 36. Highlights Lin Dan who won gold medal at Beijing Olympics in 2008 and London Olympics in 2012 will not be participating at 2020 Tokyo Olympics that has been pushed to next summer due to COVID-19. About Lin Dan ..

Sunil Chhetri, PV Sindu to launch Fit India talks

On July 2, 2020, the flagship programme of Indian Government, Fit India announced that it is to launch Fit India Talks. It is an interactive session of top sports stars of India with school children. Highlights The Fit India talks was jointly launched by Union Sports Minister Kiren Rijju, Indian Football team skipper Sunil Chhetri ..

Viktor Axelsen wins All England Open Badminton Championships

In the recently concluded All England Open Badminton Championships, Denmark’s Viktor Axelsen won his first singles title. He defeated Taiwanese top seed Chou Tien-chen in straight sets in the summit clash. Last year, Axelsen was the runner-up in the tournament after losing to Kento Momota. Taiwan’s Tai Tzu Ying is the women’s champion for the third time in ..

P V Sindhu named Sportsperson of the Year at TOISA 2019

Ace Indian shuttler and Olympic silver medallist P V Sindhu was named Sportsperson of the Year at the ‘Times of India Sports Awards (TOISA) 2019’ in New Delhi. Sindhu who won the World Championship, also received the ‘Unbreakable Spirit of Sports award’ and ‘Badminton Player of the Year (female)’. Former Indian football captain Bhaichung Bhutia ..

Tasnim Mir and Mansi Singh win bronze medals at Yonex Dutch Junior International 2020

Indian shuttlers Tasnim Mir and Mansi Singh were seen in news as they recently won a bronze medal each in the girls’ singles event at the Yonex Dutch Junior International 2020. The Badminton event was held in Haarlem, Netherlands. India has won two bronze medals in girls’ singles, for the first time at this BWF ..