Amartya Sen: GK, General Studies and Current Affairs

‘Infosys Prize 2019’ given to Six Leading Achievers

The six winners of Infosys Prize 2019 were felicitated with a pure gold medal, a citation and prize money of USD 100,000, which were presented by Bharat Ratna & Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Science 1998 winner, Prof. Amartya Kumar Sen on Tuesday, 7th January 2020 at Bengaluru.  First awarded in the year 2008, the ..

London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) establishes a new academic position in honor of Amartya Sen

The London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) has established the Amartya Sen Chair in Inequality Studies to honour the Indian-born economist, philosopher and Nobel laureate. The chair will provide coordination and strategic leadership on the inter-disciplinary analysis of inequalities at LSE. Besides, it will connect research on inequalities across the School, engage with ..

Amartya Sen recipient of Oxford University’s Bodley Medal 2019

Nobel Prize-winning economist Amartya Sen has been awarded the prestigious 2019 Bodley Medal, the highest honour bestowed by the University of Oxford’s world-famous Bodleian Libraries. Sen received the medal in Oxford during an event called the ‘Founder’s Lunch’ from Chris Patten, chancellor of the university, and Richard Ovenden, librarian. Beside him, other winner of the ..

Nabaneeta Dev Sen honoured with 2017 Big Little Book Award in Bengali language

Popular Bengali writer Nabaneeta Dev Sen has been has been declared winner of the 2017 Big Little Book Award in the “Author in Bengali Language” category for her contribution to the children’s literature. The Big Little Book Award, a first-of-its-kind initiative in India, seeks to recognise and honour authors and illustrators who have contributed to ..

Book “Age of Anger: A History of Present” wins Book of Year Award 2017

At the 8th edition of the Tata Literature festival-2017, the book “Age of Anger: A History of the Present” has won the Book of the Year Award 2017 in the Non–Fiction category. The book was authored by Pankaj Mishra. Apart from this, the fiction top honour was bagged by Easterine Kire’s ‘Son of the Thundercloud’. ..