Current Affairs Current Affairs : Awards September October 2009

October 9, 2009: Jamnalal Bajaj Awards 2009:
The Jamnalal Bajaj awards which are given by Jamnalal Bajaj Foundation every year, were declared recently.
Read Here
October 2, 2009: Dhoni declared ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year
Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been named “One day International (ODI) Player of the Year” for the second time in a row. Click Here for ICC Award Winners 2009

October 9, 2009: Himachal received Diamond state award
Prof. Prem Kumar Dhumal, Chief Minister, received Diamond State Award on behalf of the people of Himachal Pradesh from Smt. Meira Kumar, Speaker, Lok Sabha, for being adjudged the Best State in the country in the “Women Empowerment and Employment Generation” category besides getting Special Award in the overall performance in the country. The award received in the was 2nd IBN 7 Diamond States Award ceremony.

October 7, 2009: Dalai Lama Receives Lantos Human Rights Prize
U.S. House Speaker Nancy Pelosi presented Dalai Lama with the Lantos Human Rights Prize during his recent visit to US.
About Award: It’s named after the late Congressman Tom Lantos, who was a human rights advocate and Holocaust survivor.

October 7, 2009: Pride of Britain award to Jaswinder Sanghera
Jasvinder Sanghera, who fled from her home to escape from being forced into marriage at the age of 15, was given the prestigious Pride of Britain award for her extraordinary achievements in London. She is known for her vigorous campaign that led the British government to take effective measures against forced marriages.
Other awardees:

  • 12-year-old Jake Peach, who battles leukaemia but helps to raise funds for fellow sufferers.
  • MRI scanner inventor Sir Peter Mansfield, 75, received a Lifetime Achievement Award by Gordon Brown and wife Sarah.

October 1, 2009 : Manna Dey to get Dada Saheb Phalke award
Legendary singer Manna Dey has been nominated for the Dada Saheb Phalke award for 2007 for lifetime contribution to Indian cinema.

About the Award:
The award, named after the father of Indian cinema Dada Saheb Phalke, is the highest honour in Indian filmdom. The award carries a cash prize of Rs 10 lakh, a Swarna Kamal and a shawl.

October 9, 2009: ‘National Friendship Award’ of China to Dr Krishna B Kumar
Indian biotechnology expert Dr Krishna B Kumar working in China has been conferred with the prestigious ‘National Friendship Award’ instituted by the Chinese government to honour foreigners working in that country.

September 29, 2009: Tamil Nadu State Film Awards

  • Rajnikant, Kamal Haasan win best actor Tamil Nadu state awards This is the link for Tamilnadu State Awards 2007 & 2008

October 8, 2009: Pabindra Nath Sarma Memorial Award and the Kunjabala Devi Memorial Award 2009
Two young journalists of Assam were given these awards. Debajit Sarma bagged the Pabindra Nath Sarma Memorial Award for investigative journalism on human rights and civil liberties, while the Kunjabala Devi memorial Award for investigative journalism and women issues went to Chandan Sharma.

October 9, 2009: IT Services Provider “Ekgaon” bags Dell India Small Business Award
Ekgaon is a Delhi Based IT services provider for rural and microfinance institions in India has been named the national winner of 2009 Dell Small Business Excellence Award.

September 4, 2009: Saraswati Samman & Vyas Samman given Away
Lok Sabha Speaker Smt. Meira Kumar gave away the Saraswati Samman Award for the year 2008 to Dr. Laxminandan Bora and Vyas Samman Award for the year 2008 to Smt Mannu Bhandari on September 4, 2009.

About the Awards: The Saraswati Samman and the Vyas Samman Awards were instituted by the K.K. Birla Foundation in 1991 for promotion of Indian literature.

Related People:
Smt. Shobhana Bhartia, M.P., President, K.K. Birla Foundation;
Justice G.B. Patnaik, Chairman, Chayan Parishad, Saraswati Samman;
Prof. Surya Prasad Dixit, Chairman, Chayan Samiti, Vyas Samman.

September 6, 2009: “International Bhojpuri Award” to Bindeshwar pathak of Sulabh
Sulabh founder, Bindeshwar Pathak, has been conferred with the “International Bhojpuri Award” or Antarrastriya Bhojpuri Samman in 4th world Bhojpuri Sammelan in Port Louis for his outstanding contribution in the field of social service and upliftment of the downtrodden of the society.

Other awards Won By Bindeshwar Pathak:

  • Bindeshwar Pathak is a Padma Bhushan recipient from the Government of India.
  • Bindeshwar Pathak received the Energy Globe Award, the Dubai International Award for Best Practices, and the Indira Gandhi Priyadarshini Award for Environment.
  • He was also the winner of the 2009 Stockholm Water Prize.
  • He was also recently honored by the Intergovernmental Renewable Energy Organization at the United Nations headquarters in New York on June 12, 2009 for developing low cost toilet technology to produce energy out of human excreta.

September 6, 2009: Nelson Mandela Award to Oscar Fernandes
Senior Congress leader, Oscar Fernandes, has been bestowed with the Nelson Mandela Award in recognition of his efforts for promoting minority rights.

September 6, 2009: Dr. Shardali Kulkarni got International Award for Women in Ayurveda
Indian-origin doctor Shardali Kulkarni here received the International Award for Women in Ayurveda for a doctoral thesis on plants
used in African traditional medicine. The passion with which Ayurvedic practitioner Kulkarni undertook a seven-year study on plants has earned her the prestigious International Award.

September 2, 2009: ‘Lachcho Mahraj puruskar’ to asha Parekh
Asha Parekh was awarded the ‘Lachcho Mahraj puruskar’ for her contribution in the field of dance and acting.

Who was Lachhu Maharaj:
Lachhu Maharaj (1901-1978) was an Indian dancer, a Kathak exponents in Lucknow. He received extensive training from Pandit Bindadin Maharaj, his uncle and the court dancer of the Nawab of Awadh, for nearly ten years. He also learnt the Pakhawaj, the Tabla and Hindustani Classical vocal music. He shifted to Mumbai in the early days of developing bollywood which helped him to bring Kathak to a far wider audience.

Lachhu Maharaj was acclaimed for the choreography of dance sequences in movies like Mahal, Mughal-e-Azam and Pakeezah as well as his ballets like Goutam Buddha, Chandravali and Bharatiya Kissan. He was also the founder Director of the Kathak Kendra started by the Uttar Pradesh Government in Lucknow. Among many prestigious awards he won were the Presidents’ Award and the Sangeet Natak Academy Award.

September 4, 2009: Update to fDI ASIA Award in this Post

  • fDI announced that it has decided to confer the Asia fDi award to the state of Gujarat instead of Chief Minister Narendra Modi, as his “alleged role in the (2002) riots is under investigation”.
The above 5 questions are part of Daily Current Affairs 20 MCQs Series in GKToday Android Application. This series can be subscribed in the app only for Rs. 799/- for entire year. Download Now


Leave a Reply