Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav (AKAM) design coins

On June 6, 2022, Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched a special series of coins. These coins have also been made visually impaired friendly.

Key facts

  • The coins of Re 1, Rs 2, 5, 10 and 20 denominations were launched.
  • These coins will have the Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav (AKAM) design.
  • Coins are not commemorative coins but will be a part of circulation.

Significance of the coins

These new series of coins will remind citizens of the goal of amrit kal. It will also motivate people to work towards development of India. Coins were launched on the occasion of ‘Iconic Week Celebrations’ of Ministry of Finance.

Distribution of coins

The new special series of coins will be distributed through select branches of banks.

Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav

Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav is an initiative of Government of India, launched to honour and celebrate 75 years of independent India. The initiative also seeks to celebrate and honour the magnificent history of India’s culture, people, and accomplishments. It is dedicated Indian people, who have been contributing in driving India thus far on developmental front and who hold potential to facilitate Prime Minister’s dream of triggering India 2.0. This initiative is also fuelled by the vibrancy of Atmanirbhar Bharat.

When was Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav Started?

Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav officially started on March 12, 2021, and will be completed on August 15, 2023. Initiative was started from Ahmedabad, Gujarat by flagging off Dandi March from Sabarmati Ashram. It is now getting launched from cities, that contributed in India’s freedom battle. It included Sabarmati Ashram, Cellular Jail in Andaman and Nicobar Island and Jallianwala Bagh in Punjab, etc.

Who can mint coins in India?

Government of India is authorized and have right to mint coins in country. Right for coinage vests with the Government in accordance with Coinage Act, 2011. Coins in various denominations are designed and minted by Government of India only. Coins are minted at India Government Mints at Mumbai, Saifabad in Hyderabad, Alipore in Kolkata, Noida in UP and Cherlapally in Hyderabad. However, coins are issued for circulation only through the Reserve Bank, in accordance with RBI Act.



Leave a Reply