Vishwakarma Rashtriya Puraskar (VRP) and National Safety Awards (NSA)

On 8th March 2022, Union Minister of Labor and Employment, Bhupender Yadav,   presented Vishwakarma Rashtriya Puraskar (VRP) and National Safety Awards (NSA).

About the awards

Vishwakarma Rashtriya Puraskar (VRP) and National Safety Awards (NSA) are presented by the Ministry of Labor & Employment since 1965. Directorate General Factory Advice Service & Labor Institutes (DGFASLI), Mumbai, operates the award schemes.


DGFASLI is a technical wing and an attached office of the Ministry of Labor and Employment. It gives technical advice to workers and management in factories to make the industrial activities safe and to promote the safety and welfare of industrial workers.

About Vishwakarma Rashtriya Puraskar (VRP)

  • The Vishwakarma Rashtriya Puraskar (VRP) was previously known as Shram Vir National Awards. This award is given in recognition of outstanding suggestions given by workers and implemented by the management of the factory during the previous calendar year.
  • The suggestions should be regarding improving the quality, productivity, safety, health of the industrial workers or conservation of environment in industrial premises.
  • There are 28 awards and awardees will be given a cash prize and a certificate of merit in three categories:
    1. Class ‘A’ – 5 awards of Rs. 75,000/- each
    2. Class ‘B’ –8 awards of Rs. 50,000/- each
    3. Class ‘C’ – 15 awards of Rs. 25,000/- each.

About National Safety Awards (NSA)

  • National Safety Awards are awarded in recognition of the outstanding safety performance of industrial establishments, construction sites, ports, and installations under the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB).
  • The objective of the awards is to stimulate and maintain the interests of both the management and the workers in the prevention of accidents.
  • The awards are given under twelve schemes:
    • Ten are for Factories/Construction sites /Installations under AERB
    • Two are for Ports.
  • Each Award Winner and Runner-up will be given a Shield and a Certificate of Merit.

These awards help in improving the occupational safety of workers and the adoption of best safety practices by the industries.



Leave a Reply