What is Schengen Area?

The Schengen Area is an area that comprises 26 European countries that have abolished all passports and border control at their respective mutual borders. Overview: The name of this area comes from the 1985 Schengen Agreement that was signed in ..



Facebook Sues EU Anti-Trust Regulator for Excessive Data Requests

The US-based social media giant, Facebook, has announced that it is suing the EU Anti-trust regulator for seeking information beyond the realm of necessity, including personal details, for their investigations into the company’s data and marketplace. Background The social media ..


India becomes 12th Largest Holder of US Government Securities at April 2020 end

Despite low returns, the Treasury Securities (are of four types- Bills, Notes, Bonds, Inflation-Protected Securities) backed by the United States Treasury Department is one of the safest assets for any Central Bank around the world. With USD 157.4 billion at ..


Luxembourg abolishes fares for public transport systems

Luxembourg, a small European country has abolished fares for public transport systems including trains, trams and buses. All standard-class journeys on public transport in the country are now available for free of charge. This decision has been taken to tackle ..

Luxembourg: The First Country in the World to provide Free Public Transport

Luxembourg in Europe has become the first country to make all forms of public transport free. It is the second smallest country in the European Union. Highlights Around 0.2 million passengers travel to Luxembourg from its neighbouring countries such as ..


Historic Apology issued by Netherlands Prime Minister

The Prime Minister of Netherlands Mark Rutte on Sunday, 26th January 2020, made the country’s first apology for the persecution of Jews during the 2nd World War. He made this historic apology, first-of-its-kind made by any government in this regard, ..