Tirath Singh Rawat sworn in as Uttarakhand CM

Tirath Singh Rawat has become the new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand on March 10, 2021. He took the oath as CM a day after the former CM Trivendra Singh Rawat resigned from the post.


Tirath Singh is the Lok Sabha MP from Garhwal. He was elected as the leader of BJP Legislature Party and it made him to take over as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand. This news was announced by Trivendra Singh Rawat after the meeting of BJP legislature party. The choice of making Mr Rawat the new CM of the state was also taken up as a surprise because he was not among the favourite candidate for many.  The other key names for the post of CM were Dhan Singh Rawat, Ajay Bhatt and Anil Baluni.

About Tirath Singh Rawat

He was the BJP party chief in the state of Uttarakhand from 2013 to 2015. Presently, he is the national secretary of BJP. He was also elected as an MLA from the Chaubattakhal Constituency and remained in the position from 2012 to 2017. He also acted as the first education minister of the Uttarakhand when it was carved out as a separate state. He has also been the Chief Electoral Officer of Uttarakhand and a state membership chief. He also served as the state vice president of the Uttar Pradesh Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha.

Chief Minister

The chief minister is the elected head of government in each state. The constitution provides that, the Governor is a head of the state but but de facto executive authority lies with the chief minister. He is the head of the government. The CM is elected through a majority in state legislative assembly by a vote of confidence in legislative assembly. He is elected for five years and hold office during the pleasure of Governor. He is appointed by governor and swearing in is also done before the governor.




Latest E-Books