Arunachal Pradesh Statehood Day

The State of Arunachal Pradesh celebrated its statehood day on February 20. President Murmu attended the state celebrations. The statehood was granted in 1987. It was the 24th state in the country.

How was Arunachal Pradesh formed?

The Union Government provided the Statehood of Arunachal Pradesh through the State of Arunachal Pradesh Act, 1986. In 1972, Arunachal Pradesh was made a union territory. Till then the region was called the North East Frontier Agency.

55th Amendment of the Constitution

The amendment provided certain special privileges to the state of Arunachal Pradesh. This was because of the sensitive location of the state. The Governor of the state has the responsibility of law and order in the state.


  • The state has more than 26 major tribes. There are 750 bird species and 200 mammals. Thus, the state is highly diverse in culture and also in biodiversity.
  • The state is the largest of all the seven sister states in the North East
  • It borders Assam and Nagaland
  • The state is called the Land of Rising Sun
  • The state shares a 1,129 km border with Tibet. Also, it shares international borders with countries Myanmar and Bhutan

Environmental importance

The National Parks in the state are Namdapha, Mouling, Dibang, Pakke Tiger Reserve, and Sessa Orchid Sanctuary. The state also has the Dihang Dibang Biosphere Reserve. The state bird is Hornbill and State animal is Mithun or Gayal.



Leave a Reply