The Grand Order of the Chain of Yellow Star

The Honorary Order of the Yellow Star is the most prestigious state decoration in the Republic of Suriname. It holds great significance and is awarded to individuals who have made meritorious contributions to the Surinamese people or nation. In a historic moment, President Droupadi Murmu became the first Indian to receive the Grand Order of the Chain of Yellow Star recently.

Institution and Replacement

The Order was established in 1975, coinciding with Suriname’s independence, and replaced the Dutch Order of the Netherlands Lion. This change marked a significant transition for the young nation.

Eligibility and Recognition

The Order recognizes both Surinamese citizens and foreigners who have demonstrated exceptional service and dedication. It serves as a symbol of honor and appreciation for their contributions to the welfare and progress of Suriname.

Grand Master of the Order

The president of Suriname holds the esteemed position of the Grand Master of the Honorary Order of the Yellow Star. As the highest authority, the president oversees the awarding process and upholds the values associated with the Order.

Classes and Medals

The Order is structured into five classes and two medals. The classes include Grand Cordon (Grootlint), Grand Officer (Grootofficier), Commander (Commandeur), Officer (Officier), and Knight (Ridder). Additionally, the Order grants Honorary Medals in Gold and Silver, further recognizing outstanding individuals.



1 Comment

  1. Dr.Cajetan Coelho

    June 8, 2023 at 2:10 pm

    Hearty congratulations to President Droupadi Murmu Ji.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *