PRASAD Scheme: Tourist Facilitation Centre at Guruvayur, Kerala inaugurated

On November 4, 2020, the Union Minister of State (IC) for Tourism and Culture Shri Prahlad Singh Patel inaugurated the “Tourist Facilitation Centre” at Guruvayur, Kerala. The centre was constructed under the PRASAD Scheme of Ministry of Tourism.

Key Highlights

The centre was constructed at a cost of Rs 11.57 crores. The centre was constructed under the “Development of Guruvayur” project of PRASAD scheme. Around 45.36 crores of rupees were allocated for the project under the scheme. Under the project, the components such as CCTV Network infrastructure, multi-level car parking and tourist amenities centre were constructed.


The scheme aims at infrastructure development such as last mile connectivity, entry points, eco-friendly modes of transport, interpretation centres, ATM/Money exchanges, and other basic tourism facilities. This is different from that of the HRIDAY scheme. HRIDAY Scheme is Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana. It preserves and revitalises heritage cities. It makes the heritage cities more accessible, appealing. The scheme focuses on street lights, footpaths, roads, drainage, water supply, waste management and security. On the other hand, PRASAD scheme focuses on infrastructural developments in pilgrimage sites.

PRASAD is Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive. It was launched in 2015.

Recent Developments

The Ministry of Tourism had recently undertaken infrastructure related developmental activities at various Buddhist sites. This is to be implemented through PRASAD scheme and Swadesh Darshan Scheme. Around 30 infrastructural development projects have been identified under the PRASAD scheme. This includes Buddhist sites such as Ajanta and Ellora, Bodhgaya. Developing Buddhist heritage is not only important in tourism point of view, it is also in line with Act East Policy.


Around 12 cities were identified under the scheme. They were

  • Kamakhya (Assam)
  • Amaravati (Andhra Pradesh)
  • Gaya (Bihar)
  • Dwarka (Gujarat)
  • Ajmer (Rajasthan)
  • Kedarnath (Uttarakhand)
  • Puri (Odisha)
  • Mathura (Uttar Pradesh)
  • Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh)
  • Velankanni (Tamil Nadu)
  • Kanchipuram (Tamil Nadu)
  • Amritsar (Punjab).


The PRASAD scheme is 100% funded by the Central Government.


Leave a Reply