Eminent Marathi writer Bhalchandra Nemade selected for Jnanpith Award 2014

Eminent Marathi writer Bhalchandra Nemade has been selected for Jnanpith Award 2014.
He is the 4th Marathi writer to receive the honour and is the 50th recipient of Jnanpith award.
With this award he joined the league of noted Marathi writers who have won Jnanpith award. They are

  • Vishnu Sakharam Khandekar (1974) for his work Yayati.
  • Vishnu Vaman Shirwadkar (1987). He is famously known as Kusumagraj.
  • Vinda Karandikar (2003).

 About Bhalchandra Nemade

  •  He was born in 1938 in the village of Jalgoan district of Maharashtra.
  • He completed his bachelor’s degree from Fergusson College, Pune and received PhD and D.Lit. degrees from North Maharashtra University.
  • He has taught English, Marathi, and comparative literature at various universities including the School of Oriental and African Studies at London and retired from Mumbai University’s Gurudeo Tagore Chair for comparative literature studies.
  • In the 1960s, he had edited Marathi magazine Vacha.

His work

  • Novel Collection- Kosla, Bidhar, Hool, Jarila, Jhool, Hindu- Jagnyachi Samruddha Adgal.
  • Poem Collection- Melody, Dekhani.
  • Criticism Collection Teekaswayamvar, Sahityachi Bhasha, Tukaram, The Influence of English on Marathi : A Sociolinguistic and Stylistic Study, Indo-Anglian Writings: Two Lectures, Prasaranga Prakashan, Mysore, Nativism (Desivad).

Awards- He has received Sahitya Akademi Award (1990) for his critical work Teeka Svayanwar. He is also recipient of Padma Shri (2011).

About Jnanpith Award

  • Jnanpith award is one of the prestigious literary awards in India. The name of award is taken from Sanskrit words Jnana and Pitha (knowledge-seat).
  • It was instituted in 1961 and presented by Bharatiya Jnanpith, a trust founded by the Sahu Shanti Prasad Jain family.
  • The award is given to any Indian citizen who writes in any 22 official languages of India mentioned in VIII Schedule of Constitution of India. The award includes 11 lakh rupees and a citation plaque and a bronze replica of Saraswati.
  • Prior to 1982, the award was only given for a single work by a writer. But since 1982, the award is given for lifetime contribution to Indian literature.


Leave a Reply