New Zealand wins Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament 2015

New Zealand has won the 24th edition of Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament 2015 for second time.
In the final match, New Zealand defeated World Champions Australia by 3-1 goals in the penalty shoot-out. In regulation 60 minutes time, both teams had tied at 2-2 goals.
Earlier, New Zealand had won the Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament in 2012. It is third time Australia came as runner-ups position in tournament (1999, 2006 and 2015).
India won the bronze i.e. finished third by defeating South Korea by 4-1 goals in the penalty shoot-out after both the teams were tied at 2-2 at regulation time.

About Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament

  • It is an annual tournament held in Malaysia and was established in 1983.
  • Initially it was a biennial tournament but since 1998, it is played every year.
  • Named after 9th king of Malaysia and ‘Father of Malaysian Hockey’ Sultan Azlan Shah.
  • Australia has won the tournament for record 8 times in 1983, 1996, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2011, 2013 and 2014.



Latest E-Books


  • sameer

    Congrats NZ!! For world cup – Cricket as well as for Hockey…
    you are champs