Sri Lanka is in the process of drafting its new Constitution

Sri Lanka is on its way to draft its new constitution by reverting back the provisions of the 19th amendment of 2015, which put a cap on the power of the President and strengthened the position of the Parliament. The declaration has been made by the President Gotabaya Rajapaksa during the inaugural session of the parliament.

Constitution History of Sri Lanka

  • In 1948, the British Colony of Ceylon (present-day Sri Lanka) became independent as Ceylon and from 1948 and 1972, Ceylon was an independent country in the Commonwealth of Nations.
  • The constitution of 1972 was Sri Lanka’s first republican constitution. The constitution changed the name from Ceylon to Sri Lanka and also declared Sri Lanka as the “Republic of Sri Lanka”.
  • The constitution of 1978 was Sri Lanka’s second republican constitution. It was ratified on 31st August 1978 and came into operation on 7th September. It replaced the Sri Lankan Constitution of 1972.

What is the 19th Amendment to the Constitution of Sri Lanka?

The 19th Amendment to the Constitution of Sri Lanka was passed on 28 April 2015. As per the amendment, the several powers of the Executive Presidency were diluted and it was looked after by the newly formed Constitutional Council. The 19th amendment limited the tenure of the term of office of the President to five years.




Latest E-Books