Rajasthan Government Presents First Paperless Budget

The Chief Minister of Rajasthan, Ashok Gehlot, led Congress government presented its third state budget and the first paperless budget on February 24, 2021 in the state assembly. The Chief minister holds the finance portfolio and he finalised the budget on February 23, 2021.

Rajasthan Legislative Assembly

The state legislative assembly of Rajasthan is the unicameral legislature. This assembly meets at the Vidhan Bhavan in Jaipur. The members of the state Legislative assembly are directly elected by the people. They are elected for a term of 5 years. Currently, the legislative assembly is comprising of 200 members.


First Rajasthan Legislative Assembly was inaugurated in March 1952. Its tenure was from 1952 to 1957. The assembly then had the strength of 160 members. In the year 1956, the strength of the assembly was increased to 190 by merging the Ajmer State with Rajasthan. The second legislative assembly was inaugurated in 1957 with 176 members. Following this, third legislative assembly was inaugurated in 1962 with 176. The fourth and the fifth assembly had 184 members. The strength of the assembly was increased to 200 with the sixth legislative assembly that ran from 1977 to 1980. The Fourteenth Legislative Assembly was started in January 2013. Umed Singh of Barmer became the youngest member of Rajasthan Legislative Assembly in 1962.

Unicameral Legislature

Unicameral Legislature means the legislature which comprises of a single legislative or parliamentary chamber or house. Almost half of the world’s sovereign states are unicameral. However, the People’s Republic of China lies in between having a legislature and a formal advisory body.

State Budget

The state budget is laid down before the house of houses of legislatures in the state in accordance with Article 202 of the Constitution. The budget comprises of the estimated statement of receipt and expenditure for a financial year.




Latest E-Books