Top GKToday’s News Headlines- 25 October 2019

Here are the top News Headlines of  25 October 2019 for all competitive examinations of India.

National Current Affairs

  • Haryana Assembly poll results (90/90):  BJP: 40, Haryana Lokhit Party: 1, Independent: 7, Congress: 31, Indian National Lok Dal (INLD): 1, Jannayak Janta Party (JJP): 10
  • Maharashtra Assembly poll results (281/288): BJP: 102, Congress: 41, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP): 53, Shiv Sena: 56, Independents: 13, Others: 15
  • GUJARAT: Congress wins from Tharad, Radhanpur, Kheralu, Bayad; BJP from Amraiwadi and Lunawada
  • ARUNACHAL PRADESH: Independent wins from Khonsa (West)
  • ASSAM: BJP wins from Rangapara, Sonari and Ratabari; All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) from Jania
  • BIHAR: Rashtriya Janata Dal wins from Simri Bakhtiarpu and Belhar, All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen wins from Kishanganj, Independent wins from Daraundha, JD-U from Nathnagar
  • CHHATTISGARH: Congress wins from Chitrakoot
  • HIMACHAL PRADESH: BJP wins from Dharamshala and Pachhcad
  • KERALA: Communist Party of India (Marxist) wins from Vattiyoorkavu and Konni, Congress wins from Ernakulam and Aroor, Indian Union Muslim League wins from Manjeshwar
  • MADHYA PRADESH: Congress wins from Jhabua
  • MEGHALAYA: United Democratic Party wins from Shella
  • ODISHA: Biju Janata Dal wins from Bijepur
  • PUDUCHERRY: Congress wins from Kamaraj Nagar
  • PUNJAB: Congress wins from Phagwara, Mukerian, and Jalalabad; Shiromani Akali Dal wins from Dakha
  • RAJASTHAN: Congress wins from Mandawa, Rashtriya Loktantrik Party wins from Khinwsar
  •  SIKKIM: BJP wins from Martam-Rumtek(BL) and Gangtok (BL); Sikkim Krantikari Morcha wins from Poklok-Kamrang
  • TAMIL NADU: All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam wins from Nanguneri and Vikravandi
  •  TELANGANA: Telangana Rashtra Samithi wins from Huzurnagar
  • UTTAR PRADESH: BJP wins from Gangoh, Iglas, Lucknow Cantt, Balha (SC), Govindnagar and Manikpur; Samajwadi Party wins from Rampur, Jalalpur, Zaidpur; Apna Dal (Soneylal) wins from Pratapgarh
  •  Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) retains Samastipur reserved seat in Lok Sabha byelection in Bihar.
  •  Sharad Pawar’s Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) retained Satara seat in Lok Sabha byelection in Maharashtra
  •  Senior IAS officer Arvind Singh is new Chairman of Airports Authority of India
  •  Senior IAS officer Sukhbir Singh Sandhu is new Chairman of NHAI
  •  Senior IAS officer Arvind Singh has been appointed as the chairman of Airports Authority of India
  •  Senior IAS officer Ganji Kamala V Rao appointed new CMD of India Tourism Development Corporation (ITDC) Ltd
  •  Senior IAS officer Pramod Kumar Tiwari, appointed new Director General of the Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS)
  •  Armies of India and France to conduct joint exercise code-named ‘Ex Shakti -2019’ from Oct 31 to Nov 13 at Mahajan Field Firing Ranges in Rajasthan

Economy & Business Current Affairs

  • BSE Sensex: 39,020.39 (–38.44), NSE Nifty: 11,582.60 (–21.50)
  • Fitch Ratings slashes India’s GDP growth forecast in 2019-20 to 5.5% from 6.6% made in June

International Current Affairs

  • New Zealand tops World Bank’s Ease of Doing Business Ranking, India 63rd (77th in 2018)
  • India-Pakistan agreement on Kartarpur corridor to allow Indian pilgrims visa-free visit to the shrine of Guru Nanak Dev in Pakistan
  •  European Parliament awards Sakharov Prize for human rights to Uighur intellectual Ilham Tohti, jailed by China
  • France and US agree to develop systems on space situational awareness and traffic management for the commercial space industry
  • U.S. Supreme Court judge Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg wins $1 million Berggruen Prize for philosophy and culture
  • The ozone hole over Antarctica is the smallest observed since 1982: NASA
  • United Nations Day celebrated on October 24 with its theme as ‘UN75: 2020 and Beyond – Shaping Our Future Together’
  • World Development Information Day celebrated on October 24

Sports Current Affairs

  • India’s D. Harika won the ‘best women’s player’ prize at the FIDE Grand Swiss tournament in Douglas (Isle of Man). The tournament was won by Wang Hao of China.


Latest E-Books