World Braille Day: January 4

Every year, the World Braille Day is celebrated on January 4 by the United Nations and several other international organizations. The day is celebrated to create awareness of the importance of Braille as a means of communication in the realization of human rights for the blind.

Why is World Braille Day celebrated on January 4?

The celebration of World Braille Day on January 4 is in honor of Louis Braille, the inventor of the Braille system. Braille was born in France on January 4, 1809, and it was his development of the system that has allowed blind individuals to read and write, increasing their independence and access to education and employment opportunities.

When was the first World Braille Day celebrated?

The first World Braille Day was celebrated in 2019.

What is Braille?

Braille is a system of representing alphabetic and numerical symbols using six raised dots. The dots are arranged in a grid, with different combinations of dots representing different letters, numbers, and symbols. This allows blind individuals to read and write by feeling the raised dots with their fingers.

Who invented Braille?

Braille was invented by Louis Braille in the 19th century in France. As a young boy, Braille was blinded in an accident and struggled to find ways to continue his education. He eventually developed the Braille system as a way for blind individuals to read and write, and it has since become the primary means of communication for the blind community around the world.

Braille Language in India

In India, the Braille system has been in use for many years, with the country adopting uniform Braille codes for different languages in 1951. India also established the Central Braille Plant in Dehradun and the Central Braille Press in 1954, which produce simple Braille equipment such as slates and styluses.

Steps Taken by the Government of India to Support People with Disabilities

  • The Government of India has taken several steps to support people with disabilities, including enacting the Persons with Disabilities Act in 1995. This act provides a special category called “low vision” in addition to the category of “blind,” and meets the stipulations of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities.
  • India has also accepted several United Nations resolutions on disabled people, including observing the International Year of Disabled Persons in 1981 and the UN Decade for the Disabled from 1983 to 1992.
  • Additionally, India has observed the Asia-Pacific Decade for the Disabled declared by the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP), a regional think-tank that provides analysis on social, economic, and environmental dynamics in the region.



Leave a Reply