Shehbaz Sharif- New Prime Minister of Pakistan

On 11th April 2022, Shehbaz Sharif took oath as Pakistan’s 23rd prime minister. Senate chairperson Sadiq Sanjarani administered the oath to Sharif. After Shah Mehmood Qureshi, the former foreign minister announced that his party Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaaf will be boycotting the PM polls, Shehbaz Sharif was elected as the Prime Minister unopposed.


  • After securing 174 votes (the requirement for a majority is 172), Sharif was declared the prime minister of the country.
  • Speaker Ayaz Sadiq announced the result as he presided over the National Assembly session.
  • Shehbaz Sharif is ex-prime minister Nawaz Sharif’s younger brother.
  • He has also served as the Punjab province’s chief minister for three terms.
  • The united opposition that deposed Imran Khan from the post of prime minister chose Sharif as their leader.

Sharif’s announcements

Sharif announced that his incoming government will be investigating Imran Khan’s allegations regarding the conspiracy of foreign intervention. He has also announced that the government will be working to speed up development under China’s One Belt and Road Initiative, and also has plans to bring in more investments in the country.

Removal of Imran Khan

Imran Khan was removed from the post on 9th April 2022 following a no-confidence late in the night. After his removal, Imran Khan has alleged a conspiracy by the US to topple his government.




Latest E-Books