Real Madrid Clinch La Liga Title

Real Madrid clinched their 34th Spanish League Title after they defeated Villarreal 2-1 with one round to go. With this victory, they have opened up a lead of seven points at the top against their arch-rivals Barcelona who had lost to Osasuna in their last match at the Camp Nou Stadium.

With Zinedine Zidane back at the helm of affairs, Karim Benzema was the star of the match with a brace to seal the title with their 10th consecutive victory in the league this season. Real Madrid has been the only team with perfect record post the break imposed by the COVID 19 pandemic.

Zidane had left Real Madrid in 2018 after winning three back-to-back Champions League Titles but returned within one season and in his first year in charge again, he has won the prestigious title again. This is also the first title for the Spanish giants after the departure of Cristiano Ronaldo to Juventus, two seasons ago.

Apart from this, Mallorca became the second team to be relegated this year along with Espanyol, after their defeat against Granada at home. Barcelona is in the second position now with Atletico Madrid being in the third position in the league.

La Liga

It is the men’s top professional football division of the Spanish Football League System. It started in 1929. Real Madrid has won this tournament for the most number of times with 34 league titles since its inception. The league is administered by the National Professional Football League. Once relegated from this league, the teams have to play in Segunda Division and from there they can again be promoted based on their performance in that league.




Latest E-Books