Germany wins Champions Trophy Hockey by defeating Pakistan

Olympic Champions Germany has won the Champions Trophy Hockey title.  It is Germany’s 10th Champions Trophy title. Germany defeated Pakistan by score of 2-0 goal margin in the final match held at Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar, Odhisa.
Earlier for the third position India lost to Australia 1-2.
In other classification encounters, the Netherlands defeated Argentina 4-1 in the fifth-sixth place play-off match, while England defeated Belgium 3-2 to finish seventh.

About Champions Trophy Hockey

It is an international field hockey tournament organized by the International Hockey Federation. It was established in 1978 by Pakistan’s Air Marshal Nur Khan and the Pakistan Hockey Federation. This tournament features the world’s top-ranked field hockey teams competing in a round robin format.
Earlier, the tournament was organized annually, but in 2014 it was changed from an annual to a biennial event, due to the introduction of the Hockey World League.
In the men’s tournament, the Australians have won the trophy 13 times, Germany 10 times and the Netherlands 8 times, Pakistan 3 times. While India has it won once.




Latest E-Books