India signs Air bubble agreement with Australia

Indian government has signed an air bubble agreement with Australia, under which all eligible passengers will be allowed to travel between both the countries.

What is Air Bubble mechanism?

A bilateral air bubble is a mechanism, under which countries resume flights with preconditions during Covid-19 pandemic.

How flights will run under this mechanism?

Currently, India has suspended all the scheduled international flight operations till January 31, 2022. So, under the aur bubble agreement, dedicated cargo flights with select countries continue to operate.

With what countries India has such agreement?

India has signed bilateral air bubble agreements with around 33 countries, including, Australia, Afghanistan, Bhutan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Canada, France, Ethiopia, Finland, Iraq, Germany, Kenya, Japan, Maldives, Kuwait, Nepal, Mauritius, Nigeria, Netherlands, Qatar, Oman, Rwanda, Russia, Seychelles, Singapore, Tanzania, Switzerland, Sri Lanka, USA, UK, UAE, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.

Air Bubble between India and Australia

  • Australian airline Qantas has started flights between Sydney and New Delhi, recently. It is also set to start flights between New Delhi and Melbourne before Christmas.
  • Air India also operated direct commercial flights to connect New Delhi with Melbourne and Sydney before Indian government suspended scheduled international flights.
  • Air India flights between India and Australia will resume in coming days, said a senior official with the airline.


India had suspended international flight operations from March 23, 2020 in the aftermath of Covid-19 pandemic.


Leave a Reply