Telangana Government creates 21 new districts

Telangana Government in its the biggest administrative reform has created 21 new districts. With this reorganisation, the total number of districts in the State went up to 31 from 10.
The 21 new districts are: Siddipet, Jayashankar, Jangaon, Jagtial, Yadadri, Warangal (Rural), Peddapally, Sangareddy, Kamareddy, Mancheriyal, Kothagudem, Vikarabad, Rajanna, Asifabad, Suryapet, Wanaparthy, Nirmal, Mahabubabad, Nagarkurnool, Jogulamba and Malkajgiri.
Earlier 10 districts are: Hyderabad, Mahabubnagar, Ranga Reddy,  Karimnagar, Medak, Adilabad, Warangal, Nizamabad, Khammam and Nalgonda.
Earlier, Telangana government had decided to issue an ordinace to amend some provisions of the Telangana District (Formation) Act, 1974 to abridge the process for increasing the number of districts in state beyond 27. Besides, formation of new districts it also has called for reconstitution of revenue divisions and other administrative units along with the new districts.
Why new districts were formed?

  • Telangana came into existence as the 29th State of India on June 2, 2014 after it was carved out of Andhra Pradesh. Since then it was having 10 districts.
  • With this administrative reform, each district on average will have a population of two lakhs to four lakhs except in Hyderabad where the population will be little more
  • Through small districts, state government seek to deliver people-centric welfare schemes and governance to all citizens in the state with greater focus. This system has been adopted based on governance models of Scandinavian countries.




Latest E-Books