Supreme Court issues notice to Centre, States on disaster management

After the devastating tragedy that struck upon Uttarakhand and which resulted in numerous deaths the Supreme Court issued notice to Uttarakhand and six other states for their alleged failure in implementing the Disaster Management Act in order to handle natural calamities.

The court has sought response from the Centre, the states and the Union Territory of Andaman & Nicobar Islands on a PIL alleging that governments have failed to implement the Disaster Management Act that was passed in 2005.

Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Odisha, West Bengal and Gujarat are the six other states who have received this notice.

The court held that it was extremely pathetic that even after 8 years of the act, the Centre and the various state governments had failed to implement its provisions and presently there is no uniform policy in the country for granting compensation to the victims of disaster.