Ravi Kota appointed as new Joint Secretary of 15th Finance Commission of India

Ravi Kota, the 1993 batch IAS officer of Assam- Meghalaya, has been appointed Joint Secretary of 15th Finance Commission under the Department of Economic Affairs (DEA). Presently, he is posted as Principal Secretary in Government of Assam-Meghalaya. The Finance Commission, set up in 1951 under Article 280 of the Constitution, basically decides how revenue has to be distributed between the Centre and the States. In addition, the Commission also decides the principles on which grants-in-aid will be given to the States. The 15th Finance Commission was constituted on November 27, 2017 and is headed by former Revenue Secretary Rajya Sabha MP N.K. Singh. The panel also includes Shaktikanta Das, former Economic Affairs Secretary and Anoop Singh, adjunct professor at Georgetown University. This Commission is slated to submit its recommendations by October 31, 2019. The recommendations, to be observed for a period of five years, will kick in from April 1, 2020.


Latest E-Books