V Narayanasamy sworn in as Puducherry CM

Congress Party leader V Narayanasamy was sworn in as Chief Minister of the Union Territory of Puducherry.
He was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Lt. Governor Kiran Bedi at a function held at the historic Gandhi Thidal in Beach Road.
Besides him, 5 Congress legislators A Namassivayam, Shah Jahan, M Kandasamy, R Kamalkannan and Malladi Krishna Rao were also sworn in as ministers.

About V Narayanasamy

  • V Narayanasamy had represented Puducherry in Rajya Sabha for three terms. He had served as Minister of State (MoS) Parliamentary Affairs in UPA-I.
  • In 2009, he was elected to Lok Sabha and had served as Minister of State (MoS) in Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) in UPA II.

Earlier in May 2016, Congress-DMK alliance had emerged victorious in 2016general elections. The alliance had won 17 seats (Congress: 15; DMK:2) in the 30 member Territorial Assembly. It should be noted that Narayanasamy is not a member of the house. He need to become member of house by facing election in 6 months.



Latest E-Books