Indian Railways wins 32nd Indian Oil Surjit Hockey Tournament

Indian Railways has won 32nd edition of Indian Oil Surjit Hockey tournament for the first time.
In the final match played at Olympian Surjit Hockey Stadium in Jalandhar (Punjab), Indian Railways team defeated defending champions Indian Oil Mumbai by 4-3 score.

  • Indian Railways: Captain Vinod Kumar (18th minute), Malak Singh scored two goals (34th minute and 43rd minute), Affan Yusuf (45th minute).
  • Indian Oil Mumbai: Captain Deepak Thakur scored two goals (13th minute and 63rd minute), Sunil Yadav (55th minute).

With this victory, the winning team bagged 5 lakh rupees cash award and Winners Trophy. While, the runners up got 2.50 lakh rupees cash and Runners Up Trophy.
Malak Singh of Indian Railways was adjudged as Player of the Tournament and was given a cash prize of 25,000 rupees.

About Surjit Memorial Hockey Tournament

  • It is an annual hockey tournament organized by Surjit Hockey Society in Jalandhar, Punjab in the memory of Surjit Singh Randhawa.
  • Surjit Singh was an Indian field hockey player, who had represented India national field hockey team at the 1976 Montreal Olympics and was captain of team.



Latest E-Books