India re-elected to UN Human Rights Council for 2022-24

India got re-elected to the UN Human Rights Council for 2022-24 term on October 14, 2021 with the overwhelming majority in United Nations General Assembly (UNGA).

Key Facts

  • Envoy from New Delhi described the election as “robust endorsement” of India’s strong roots in democracy, fundamental rights and pluralism as enshrined in the Constitution.
  • This decision was taken in the 76th session of the UN General Assembly.
  • Assembly took place for 18 new members of the UN Human Rights Council.
  • These new members will serve for a period of three years, starting from January 2022.

India’s selection

India secured its selection by 184 votes in the 193-member assembly, wat ahead of the majority of 97. India’s current term was to end on December 31 2021. There were five vacant seats in Asia-Pacific States category namely Kazakhstan, Malaysia, India, Qatar and United Arab Emirates, for election for the term of 2022-2024.

What are the new members?

The 193-member General Assembly elected Argentina, Cameroon, Benin, Finland, Eritrea, Honduras, Gambia, Lithuania, India, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Qatar, Paraguay, UAE, Somalia, and the USA by secret ballot for 2022-2024 term.

Term of office of members

Members of the Council will serve for a period of three years. They will not be eligible for immediate re-election following two consecutive terms.

How membership is given?

The membership is given on the basis of equitable geographical distribution. Seats are distributed among regional groups Group of Asia-Pacific States, Group of African States, Group of Eastern European States, Group of Western European & other States and Group of Latin American & Caribbean States.




Latest E-Books