Former Pakistan President sentenced to Death for Treason

The 10th President of Pakistan and military ruler, Syed Pervez Musharraf, has been sentenced to death by a three-member special court in the capital of Pakistan, Islamabad on Tuesday, 17th December 2019 for violating the constitution while he was in power as the President of Pakistan in 2007.
The charge for unlawfully declaring emergency rule by violating the constitution of Pakistan was pending since 2013, the three-member special court found him guilty by two to one.
On 3rd November 2007, Pervez Musharraf declared emergency across Pakistan and suspended the Constitution and fired the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court authorized troops for arresting the judges, which followed by suspension of news channels and other forms of independent national and international media across Pakistan. However, due to continuous public protests and international pressure, Musharaf withdrew the state emergency.
Musharaf seized to power as the Chief Executive of Pakistan on 12th October 1999 and went on to become the President of Pakistan from 2001 to 2008.
In 2008, following the general elections in which the opposition party, Pakistan Peoples Party got the highest number of votes and won most of the total seats led to the resignation and end of Pervez Musharraf’s military rule in Pakistan. The 76-year-old Musharraf is currently in Dubai receiving medical treatment.


Latest E-Books