Chaitra Navratri – the Nine-Day Festival

The auspicious festival of Navratri is one of the most important and joyous festivals celebrated in India. This nine-day festival is celebrated twice a year and is dedicated to the worship of the nine forms of Goddess Durga. The upcoming Chaitra Navratri, which falls between April 13 to April 22, will be celebrated with great enthusiasm and devotion across the country.

The Celebration of Chaitra Navratri

The festival of Chaitra Navratri is celebrated during the months of March and April, marking the beginning of the Hindu New Year. It is a time for people to rejoice, fast, and worship the nine forms of Goddess Durga.

The Nine Forms of Goddess Durga

During Chaitra Navratri, people worship the nine forms of Goddess Durga – Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandmata, Katyayani, Kaalratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidatri. Each form of the Goddess represents a different aspect of nature and symbolizes different virtues. The nine-day festival is observed with great devotion and respect for the Goddess.

History and Significance of Chaitra Navratri

According to Hindu mythology, Chaitra Navratri symbolizes the creation of the universe and the beginning of the world and beings. Since Goddess Durga is tasked with creating the world, this festival is also considered to be the beginning of the Hindu year by many. According to the religious beliefs, during this time, Goddess Durga killed, Mahishasura, an evil demon, as a symbol of good over evil.

The festival of Chaitra Navratri holds immense importance in the hearts of people. It is celebrated to attain inner peace, good health, and strength to fight evil. People fast and perform pujas to please the Goddess and seek her blessings. It is believed that by observing the nine-day fast, one can attain the grace of Goddess Durga and receive her blessings.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *