Arctic Council

The Arctic Council was established in 1956 as a high-level intergovernmental forum which addresses issues faced by the Arctic governments and people living in the Arctic region. Currently Arctic Council has 8 Member states and 13 Observer states.

8 Member states: Canada, the Kingdom of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the United States


The Arctic Ocean has an area of over 12 million square kilometres, in which coastal and other countries share maritime rights and interests according to international law.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *