The Vedic literature is broadly divided into two categories viz. Shruti and Smriti. Examine the key differences between the two.

The Vedic literature is broadly divided into two categories-Shruti and Smriti. Shruti is “that which has been heard” and is canonical, consisting of revelation and unquestionable truth, and is considered eternal. Shruti describes the sacred texts comprising the central canon of Hinduism-Vedas, Brahmanas, Aranyakas, & Upanishads.
Smiriti literally means “that which is remembered, supplementary and may change over time”. It is authoritative only to the extent that it conforms to the bedrock of Shruti and it is entire body of the post Vedic Classical Sanskrit literature. It comprises Vedanga, Shad darsana, Puranas, Itihasa, Upveda, Tantras, Agamas, Upangas.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *