Examine the various phases of Nepal's transformation from a Hindu monarchy to secular republic giving reference to the various Constitutions in the country.

First constitution of Nepal was Government of Nepal Act; 1948. This constitution vested all the powers into the hereditary Prime Ministers. Later, Partyless Panchayat system under “Constitution of Nepal, 1962”. After the Jan Andolan-I revolt; Nepal was thus converted into Constitutional Monarchy. After the Jan Andolan-II, provision for elected Constituent Assembly came into existence. In September 2015, the present Constitution of Nepal declared Nepal as federal democratic republican nation under which executive rights of the country are stated to be belonged to the Council of Ministers while the President would be ceremonial head-of-the-state.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *