Discuss the salient features of the Kalinga School of Architecture. How it is different from the Nagara style?

The Indian temples are broadly divided into Nagara, Vesara, Dravida and Gadag styles of architecture. However, the temple architecture of Odisha corresponds to altogether a different category for their unique representations called Kalinga style of temple architecture. This style broadly comes under the Nagara style.
In Kalinga Architecture, basically a temple is made in two parts, a tower and a hall. The tower is called deul and the hall is called jagmohan. The walls of both the deul and the jagmohan are lavishly sculpted with architectural motifs and a profusion of figures. The most repeated form is the horseshoe shape, which has come from the earliest times, starting with the large windows of the chaitya-grihas. It is the deul or deula which makes three distinct types of temples in Kalinga Architecture.
Some examples of Kalinga Architecture include Shatruganeswara Temples, Mukteshwar Temple, Bhubneshwar; Rajarani temple, Bhubneshwar; Lingaraj Temple, Bhubneshwar;Sun Temple Konark; Khichakeswari Temple.


Latest E-Books